Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society.Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

One has to learn to be a good member of the society, no one is born with it. From childhood, people learn in various ways to be a better person to the society, including both their parents and schools. Parents play a very important role in developing someone's character and behavior so he/she can contribute to the society. In many cases parents are the most important factor that affects a child's life. Parents teach them acceptable social behaviors, activities and moral values. Children learn from their parents the responsibilities they have for their society. Parents teach them to be a better human being. Parents are the closest people a child has in his life, so he is comfortable around them in learning social conducts more effectively.

However, only parents are not enough to teach children to be a better human. This is where school comes. Schools play an important part in this regard. School teaches them their responsibilities to the society through classroom and other activities. There are courses like sociology, psychology etc in schools that teach children about the structure of their society. These in turn help them to realize their responsibilities towards the society and it's members. Also, school serves as a social platform which train children to be a social being. This helps them a lot to be a good member of the society in their future life.

An example of schools' role in socializing can be that children are not alone in school. They have to interact with teachers and other students in various aspects, which teach them to be comfortable around people that helps later in life as a member of the society. There are various activities that take place in schools like drama, musical competition, sports which teach them to be a responsible member of the society.

Therefore, while parents act as important teachers for developing children as a good member of the society, schools' roles cannot be denied. It has to be the collaboration of the efforts by parents and school, which is the most effective way.