Increasing price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

Traffic and pollution problem is increasing day by day, which require some effective measures. While it can be somewhat effective in reducing traffic and pollution problems, however, it is not the most effective measure we have at our disposal. It can be thought of as a supporting measure along with other measures.

If the price of petrol is increased, people will have less interest in using vehicles run by petrol, which can be understood. But it won't have any significant effect in reducing traffic and pollution problem, because other factors also contribute to these problems. People who are used to driving a car everyday which is run by petrol won't be easily motivated in reducing their usage if the petrol price is increased in a small amount. Again, the number of vehicles are not responsible alone. Road conditions, traffic systems and personals responsible for these also have to be kept in mind.

Petrol is also used in power generation, where power companies sometimes receive large amount of subsidies from the government. So an increase in the price of petrol won't have any significant effect in the use of petrol in power generation. As a result, pollution won't be reduced as much as expected.

An effective approach could be introduction of alternative fuels, which are more friendly to the nature. More research in this regard should be encouraged. There are already some environment friendly fuels like solar power, wind power, hydroelectric power and so on. As for improving traffic conditions, people should be encouraged to use public transports like buses, trains, trams etc rather than private cars and motorcycles.