Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Good values are supposed to be learned primarily within the family. Yet, some people argue that it is the school’s responsibility to teach the children to do so which I greatly oppose.

Although the goal is similar, there is a big difference of discipline coming from home and school. In school, there is only one teacher among a number of pupils, this means that less attention is given to each kid or probably none at all. Aside from that, there is a limit as to how much discipline a teacher can give whereas, at home, parents can properly train the child without any form of misconduct which is a concern in schools because parents cannot favor the kind of control measure that their kid is facing.

Parents are the most appropriate people to teach their own child. Since they know what kind of attitude their kid has, handling him is easier and the effectiveness of incorporating discipline is higher due to the kid’s trust for his parents and thus, he will eventually follow. So, the conduct of a child would definitely show the kind of family he grew up with.

Therefore, parents must be the role model for their children and should not rely on schools in terms of disciplining their own child.