Some people think that paying taxes is their only responsibility towards society, while others feel that everyone should do more. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Humanity has been attempting to create tolerant and intelligent community throughout the history. There is an assumption that the only duty a citizen should perform is to pay taxes for the prosperity of society, whereas others suspect that people are supposed to make more efforts. Although, taxation is considered essential, I believe that it is insufficient without citizens’ participation in the government’s life and tolerant attitude towards others.

On the one hand, human is not obligated to do something for society except paying taxation. Therefore, if the authorities levy taxes, they ought to spend this money on creating social amenities for citizens. It means that all responsibilities belong to the state since the prosperity of society is the major reason of its existence. For example, in the constitution of every country it is written that the duties of each citizen are to obey the laws and pay taxes. In other words, people establish the government due to the authorities will care for the state dwellers.

However, I suppose that taxation will not be profitable unless people will not take part in the state’s life and respect the rights of everyone. Thereby, citizens should go to elections and be tolerant towards people of a different religion, nationality and skin color. This is because the absence of tolerance in humans’ hearts and minds make others unhappy and even could break out a civilian war. For instance, a large number of citizens in India suffer from an obsolete and unfair caste system because it discriminates their rights. Thus, people are supposed to respect others and make efforts to create a better society.

In conclusion, paying taxes is a duty of each citizen, but I think that everybody ought to do more for the prosperity of a big society that is called the government.