Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport while other people think that mental strength is more important Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Sports are an integral part of human life as it provides mental and physical fitness. There are some controversial views among people that physical strength is way superior to mental strength. This essay will examine both viewpoints and explain that mental and physical strength is equally crucial.

There are several points to support the former view. First and foremost, football is a kind of sport where every player has to put excessive force throughout the playing sessions, as footballers are often seen running all over the ground for 90 minutes in order to do goals it shows that playing football needs a lot of physical strength. Secondly, disc throw is a game where a sports person enforces a lot of strength to propel the disc to achieve greater distance, for example, Vikas Gouda is India's specialist disc thrower who does excessive workouts to strengthen this shoulder and forearms to build his endurance and strength to obtain better results.

On the other hand, there are a number of games that need a lot of mental strength to succeed such as chess, here physical strength does not really mean. Taking a real-life example into consideration, Aditya Kumar 9 years old boy from New Delhi India won a grand slam in chess 2018 however he is physically too weak. In addition, Golf is a mental game, especially at the higher levels. This is why it is essential for golfers to develop a strong inner game or mental toughness. You see players all the time who have “great talent”, but rarely play up to their potential. The problem is that golfers are not educated about the mental game mostly due to the fact, their instructors or coaches didn’t stress the importance of mental toughness when their students were learning to play.

In conclusion, mental strength is essential in games like chess and golf whereas games like football and disc throw can not be performed without physical strength.