Some people think that printed books are no longer necessary in this digital era as all writing can be stored electronically. Others think that printed books still play important roles. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the role of physical books in our modern society where electronic books and digital contents are prevalent. Although there are persuasive arguments that conventional publications would remain, I strongly believe that electronic copies would gradually substitue traditional ones.

One the one hand, a variety of reasons can be offered to explain why printed books will still be of great nessessity. Foremost among these is that readers are less likely to suffer from eye strain after they spend long hours reading. This key benefit is appealing to those who are sensitive to blue waves from electronic screens. Another worth mentioning point is that an array of bookworms loves the signature scent of old books, and the possession of a library, which stimulates their reading implulses. Therefore, owning physical copies is vital for many.

One the other hand, while unique values of conventional prints are undeniable, I would argue that digital books would steadily replace the physical versions. Firstly, electronic books are more economical because they do not require an intensive manufacturing process, and publishers can distribute copies quickly. This leads to a higher margin for publishing houses and authors. Moreover, as less materials such as papers are consumed in publishing e-books, this option is more likely to be eco-friendly than conventional method. Finally, the advent of electronic ink and digital paper has revolutionized the publishing industry with paper-like reading, writing on tablets. Those who has deeply-rooted habits of reading paper books could finally adopt a solution to read electronic books.

In conclusion, it seems to me that printed books are slowly losing ground, and, in contrast, digital options are increasingly dominating the whole publication market.