Some people think that sports involving violence such as boxing and martial arts should be banned from TV as well as from international sporting competitions To what extent do you agree

Many individuals argue that games and sports involving physical violence, such as mixed martial arts, Karate, should not be broadcasted on television and excluded from sporting competitions at the international level. I certainly disagree with the above notion and believe that such sports help people to stay healthy and learn other useful things, like self-defence and anger control.

There are different games that require a lot of physical strength to compete with an opponent, and often involve aggressive behaviour, like in combative sports; players punch each other in order to gain points. Such physical activities require a lot of stamina and sheer dedication to fight, with discipline and punctuality, players practice all day and night to win the competition. This benefits the players to stay exceptionally healthy and fit at body, and they live a disciplined life. For instance, there are many international boxing players, such as Vijender Singh, who has won many boxing titles, and his boxing lifestyle helped him to win the title of the fittest man on the planet in the year 2018.

Apart from this, people can learn self-defence from sports that involve violence. They can learn to deal with extremely difficult situations that require them to think calmly and protect themselves from the threat. Secondly, individuals can learn to control their anger from these games, many schools and sports authorities, which provide a platform for students to learn these sports, encourage individuals to practice meditation and to control and strengthen their minds. One of the famous female boxing champions, Mary Kom, for example, is seen as a role model by many women. She is widely popular for giving motivational speeches on self-defence and making such sports a part of our lives.

In a nutshell, some individuals think that the games which involve physical excessive use of force are detrimental for people and should be completely banned. I totally oppose this viewpoint as combative sports are imperative for better health, spreading awareness on self-defence, and anger control.