Some people think they have right to use as much as fresh water as they want, while others believe governments should strictly control the use of fresh water as it is limited resource. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Water is essential for human’s survival and no creatures can survive without water. Some people are concerned about the diminishing water resources and affirm that the government should control the water usage strictly to avoid it’s exhaustion in the future. From my perspective, I believe that every people have its own freedom to use fresh water.

On the one hand, there are several reasons for why the central official should put water under public control. Fresh water is not a renewable resource and therefore it requires government control to prevent its exhaustion. Many human’s activities have led to both the melting of the polar ice caps and a significant drop in the percentage of annual rainfall. As these two resources are considered humanity's main suppliers of fresh water, it is clear that their excessive use for purposes such as industrial production or domestic chores must be guided by a comprehensive government plan. Thus, the merits of government intervention in human water use can be seen.

On the other hand, because fresh water is a basic human necessity, restricting its access could be argued a human rights infringement. For example, in some cities in developing countries, the fresh water supply to the community through the public irrigation system is made available for limited hours only, whereas hotels and restaurants are given a 24 hour water supply. As this division in water access patterns the buying power of the people, it is clear that the rights of the poor are being marginalized. And is has a more weak social stability in cities where have such phenomenon.

In my opinion, in a country where has limited water resource, building a proper water supply system should be the priority of the other issues. A fair usage policy must be applied by the government and subscribed to by the people to save both the human race and the planet.