Some people think that video games are advantageous, while others believe video games are harmful to

the people who play them.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people think that playing video games is beneficial to their users while others say that video

games are more disadvantageous. I will discuss both sides of this argument in my

essay below and give my personal view in the conclusion.

On the one hand, playing video games has some advantages. Firstly, games help their

players relax and therefore improve their work efficiency afterwards. This is extremely

important for both working people and students who have to deal with increasing workload nowadays

. Secondly, playing games also have some educational purposes. For

example, many modern games are designed with English instructions, and players around the world can

play together and communicate in English. This motivates players to learn English in order to play the

games well.

On the other hand, playing video games frequently causes several problems for players. To begin with, such an activity is really addictive and sometimes takes away too much time, which will make it extremely difficult for people to get out and do exercise. Consequently,

these people are likely to suffer from a lot of diseases, such as back pain or maybe obesity, due to this

lack of physical exercise (Supporting sentence). The second disadvantage of playing games is that it can

distract players, especially young students, from their study or work. For instance, my

younger brother used to spend hours playing games every day, and now his scores at school are really

low.

In conclusion, playing video games is both advantageous and disadvantageous in many aspects. And in

my view, the extent to which each user of video games is affected is different and more or less depends

on how much time he or she spends on those games.