Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that many people are living much longer, the retirement age should be raised considerably. While there are some benefit for raising the retirement age, I would argue not raising the retirement age is the best choice.

On the one hand, it is extremely expensive to support people for so long in retirement. Pensions are paid partly by people in their working life but today pension schemes would yield less money than necessary because they were designed for shorter periods. In addition, the young is end up working harder for the enjoyment of the old. This is fundamentally unfair.

Turning to the advantages of not raising the age at which people retired from work. First, when old people retire from work later, they deprive young people of the opportunity to work and develop. Second, not only people who are earning money are valuable members of the society, but also retired people. Retired people can contribute a great deal through sharing family responsibilities and also in wider community, by doing voluntary work.

In conclusion, i think we should maintain the current retirement age and allow people to develop in different ways when they are retired.