Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of travelling to a workplace every day.

Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking for granted that technological advancement has made life more convenient. Hence, a vigorous debate has been triggered over whether working from home is preferable to commuting to the workplace on a daily basis. In my opinion, I believe that the benefits of working from home far surpass its drawbacks.

First, when telecommuters perform their jobs from home, they have the flexibility in managing working hours. This is because being outside the office provides workers more choices, so they have much time for their family and improve work life balance. Moreover, working from home associates with avoiding excessive work stress, for employees do not experience congested traffic that induces anxiety. For example, the stress of commuting at rush hour is counterproductive and leads to feeling exhausted before even commencing the working day.

On the negative side, depression is one of the main drawbacks since teleworkers spend most time solitary and feel socially isolated. As a result, they experience a drop in their productivity and loss their enthusiasm as well. Furthermore, by working from home, the chances of promotion will become less. To enumerate, it is more likely to have difficulties in managing teleworkers and monitoring their performance. Consequently, teleworking can negatively affect a person's career. A recent survey indicated that people who telework were less likely to get promoted.

In conclusion, while working from home has undoubted advantages, of which flexibility in scheduling their jobs is the most apparent, it has a few drawbacks as well. Accordingly, I think that the advantages of teleworking transcend the disadvantages.