In some societies the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

Criminal tendencies have nothing to do with age. It is observed that the number of juveniles committing serious crimes is on the rise. Some people opine that teenagers committing heinous crimes should receive the same punishment as adults. I totally agree with this view due to the fact that when teen offenders are treated like adults and given the same punishment, it will be a lesson for other teens on contemplating crime.

First of all, it is undeniable that the age of the offender is irrelevant in the case of grave crimes like murder or rape. Many teenage criminals these days are not afraid of the consequences of their act since most states currently protect them under the Child Protection Law and give them only light punishments. For example they are asked to do community service for 6 months or put in rehabilitation centres for just about a year for misdeeds likes robbery. Juveniles committing major offences are also treated rather leniently. Unfortunately, this sends the wrong message and encourages more teens to commit crime. Therefore it is paramount to give severe punishments to teen offenders so that neither they nor their peers will want to commit crimes again.

Secondly, if a child is old enough to commit a serious crime, he should definitely be considered old enough to be punished as well. This is vital to reduce the number of repeat crimes committed by these individuals. According to a survey by the Harvard University, countries that award severe punishments for all criminals regardless of their age had a significantly lower juvenile crime rate than the countries that protect children from receiving adult punishments. This is the reason why it is crucial to treat teen offenders just like adults. Moreover, giving them the proper penalties would somehow lessen the idea of doing some illegal deeds and would promote a positive advocacy towards the youth.

In conclusion, as the modernization expands its horizon ,the problem of growing juvenile crime can only be tackled by awarding them punishments in accordance with the gravity of the offence that they committed.