Some teachers think that international student exchange would be

beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think that its advantages

would outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is an increasing trend of exchaging students back and forth between schools. While some may argue about its value for the students involved, I think that the benefits it brings will definitely outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, having a child leaning outside of your country is a large financial burden. Many poor families cannot afford their child going overseas to study, which their children will be affected when seeing their peers going to schools all over the world. Public funding will definitely be needed for these cases, and investment on other fields might be lowered. Moreover, not all teenagers are ready for the scheme. Some might be shy and introvert when going outside, hence the quality of study will not be guaranteed. While the scheme might benefit the majority, not all adolescents develop equally in terms of confidence and independence.

Despite the aforementioned facts, student exchange program has its own merits to schools. Going outside their home country will inevitably make the students more confident as they are taken outside of their comfort zone, where the competitive spirit is low. Here, their self-study and independency are fostered, which will make the student prepared for the extreme workload that they will face in their career. This is also a chance to experience new culture, meet new friends, and learn a brand-new foreign language. This is a chance for students to broaden their horizons and motivate themselves to try even harder to excel in their class.

Altogether, despite having a high cost and risks of shyness, the visible benefits of student exchange will definitely outweigh them, and will rocket to be the dominating trend in education and training.