Some think that all entertaining TV programmes should educate people about the importance of social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that the significance of social problems should be informed to people through entertaining TV programmes. Although I believe that this view is well-founded to a certain extent, personally, there are several reasonable alternatives to educate people about the importance of issues in society.

On the one hand, there are a variety of justified explanations why social phenomenons should be shown through entertaining TV programmes to educate viewers. To begin with, it is undeniable that TV programmes have played an important role in human’s life, which could help to inform people about current issues in society. As a matter of fact, there is a growing number of viewers who show huge interests on entertaining TV programs, therefore, social problems would gain easier access to viewers if they are informed through these programs.. Additionally, it is much easier for viewers to understand and be aware of ever-growing social problems if they are integrated throughout entertaining TV programs. For example, “Who wants to be a millionaire” has come in handy to TV viewers as a powerful tool to inform people of what problems are having profound impacts on life such as immigration or overpopulation through a set of questions for players.

On the other hand, I believe that there are also other alternatives which could be applied to enlighten people’ awareness of social troubles. Firstly, it is possible for every individual to start a publicity campaign to propagandize about the importance of current problems in society. For instance, last year, there was a campaign led by a group of high school students in Vietnam to spread propaganda about the ramification of plastic use on the environment in the hope of declining the omnipresence of plastic in daily life. Another method is that meaningful messages on social problems could be spread through the film industry due to the massive popularity of movies in human life. As a matter of fact, there is an increasing number of young people who prefer going to movie theaters for entertaining purposes, therefore, if film producers consider having messages about problems in society such as unemployment or juvenile crime, this would be of a great help to educate people.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that entertaining TV shows should educate people on the significance of social issues, however, I feel that there are more feasible alternatives that could be done to enhance individuals’ awareness.