Some think that it is the best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some suppose that living in a horizontal city is the best while others prefer to settle in a vertical city. While there are many advantages to residents for dwelling in a city with low-rise construction, I strongly believe that skyscrapers and high-rise buildings offer more benefits.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why residents prefer to live in a horizontal city. The first reason is that it is easier to escape from a private house lower to the ground in case of emergencies such as fire. For example, when a fire is detected in the home, inhabitants can run quickly to safe area outside such home because it is not high off the ground, it does not take too much time to leave. Another reason is that residents can be freer to design or change their own house architecture as they want. A person cannot have right to change an apartment design and structure in a building though he buys and owns such apartment, because his apartment has structural relation to others in the same building.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that living a vertical city is more conducive to residents. Firstly, a city with many skyscrapers and high-rise buildings will have more space for public usage because the huge number of inhabitants live in buildings. Consequently, the government will take advantage of unused land next to such buildings so as to build public constructions such as hospitals, schools, roads and overpasses. Secondly, it is much convenient for residents to live an apartment in a tall building which offers the amount of goods and services because there are many shopping center in lower floors.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that living in a horizontal city are beneficial for residents, but I argue that the best choice is to settle in a city with various skyscrapers and high buildings.