Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In the era of cutting-edge technology, a considerable number of educational institutes launch online curriculum, which enables students to study on the Internet. Although online tuition is proved to be beneficial, they entail certain drawbacks which should not be ignored. This essay will shed some light on the pros and cons of online learning.

It goes without denying that computer-based courses exert significant merits to students and teachers. One of the most noticeable advantages that would be that the Internet provides learners and teachers with convenience and efficiency. By way of illustration, they could have intermediate access to any available given sources of the course such as class announcements, assignments and so forth. Another virtue would be that internet-based learning offers more individual attention to your lecturers. A multitude of students have a fear of asking directly to teachers due to the uncomfortability, which makes them slip the chance of grasping a deep comprehension. Therefore, the online platform gives students a direct pipeline to the instructors to facilitate their inquiries.

In stark contrast, the online studying also causes certain downsides. The principle drawback associated with this development is creating a sense of isolation. To be specific, the chances of getting involved in face-to-face communication with lecturers and peers are less owing to the fact that learners are exposed at high frequency to computers. There is another dark side of internet-based courses is the increase of procrastination. This is because there is no one preaching at students that the assignments are due and they have to stay on top of tasks. As a result, their academic performance gradually deteriorates because of not being-self disciplined as well as overlooking assigned activities by teachers.

In conclusion, although online courses may bring several merits, it is my contention that its demerits should not be underestimated. Whether it is beneficial or harmful really depends on the way people use it.