Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some universities, nowadays, open some online courses for their students so they can study on the Internet. From my experience, while I agree with studying online has its advantages, I believe that studying at school overshadows the benefits of studying online.

Face-to-face studying has a great deal of advantages. Firstly, the traditional method can help students connect with their professor better than the online method. The communication between students and teachers is more effective. For example, at university, there is no sources which can distract the attention of students and teachers. However, at home, students might lose their attention due to their atmosphere such as their neighbors, their family, or any source else. Studying at school, moreover, give students and teachers the effective atmosphere to learn and teach. University students might have a postive atmosphere which can help them pay their attention effectively without disturbed sources. Besides, professors have a good condition to teach and help their students approach the knowledge which they are taught.

On the other hand, the online studying has its benefits. For example, students and professor can connect and contact each other if they have Wi-fi or mobile data to use the Internet. Students can replace the ways they are approaching their knowledge. They do not need to go to library in their university, they can search the knowledge in the online library where it is more convenient for students.

To sum up, while I agree with the point which is openning some online courses is a positive development, I believe that online courses cannot replaced the traditional way which has a long historical distance.