In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

Agricultural approaches have enhanced a lot during the recent decades. There are a myriad of people, nonetheless, facing a serious hunger. Imbalanced distribution of wealth and severe weather condition are some of the most important predicaments causing the situation.

Poverty and political issues result a stagnant economy which is not able to afford not only the cost of advances, but also the basic needs. As a result, the idea of using modern instruments and developed methods in agriculture seems to not be practical in such societies. Developed countries, in contrast, have the privilege of enjoying a powerful economy making them capable to afford the last farming facilities. If there was not a world of difference between these two types of society, there would be fewer people suffering hunger around the world.

Furthermore, being able to cause a huge catastrophe, a harsh weather condition has always been a major risk for farming lands. Natural events such as seasonal floods, thunderstorms and drought put society into serious troubles. In this condition, nutrient requirements must be provided by purchasing from other countries and going to great expense which make the situation worse.

International organizations such as UN can partly regulate the problem by offering financial and physical supports. Individuals and companies, moreover, can be in a partnership with such organizations as volunteers contributing to charitable works and agricultural projects. Also, if local farmers had more knowledge about modern farming methods, they would be more able to tackle with challenges. Hence, the guidance of an expert can lead to an improvement on their career.

Finally, it can be said that, in spite of all the progresses in agriculture, there are a multitude of people dealing with starvation. Although the gravity of the problem is undeniable, international organizations can pave it off by supporting local activities and making investments.