Sports events get the nations together and help them alleviate the violence in the world.

“such specific events teach many part-and-parcel lessons to people” Tara Westover, Educated 2018. Do sports events play a major role? Can they reduce violence? As far as I am concerned, sports events play major roles in the lives because they increase people’s communication skills, reduce struggles between nations, and expand cultural interactions. In the following, I am inclined to put forth my schemes and opinion.

First and foremost, sports events get the nations together by augmenting participants’ communication skills. For instance, in the Olympic event 2004, despite the intensified political conflicts between the USA and North Korea, two athletes with such different nations got married. Indeed, they confirmed that the political struggles are not important in the people’s lives. Thus, it seems fair to hold that the sports events, such as Olympics, tie nations’ hearts together and reduces the unwarranted violence.

Another thing coming to the mind, as the Olympics’ flag shows, is alliance. In fact, the sports events are the harbinger of important cultural and moral concepts; For instance, when Nazi troops occupied the Italy, despite the deep sense of hatred between the two military troops, people held the sports’ festivals. As a result, it reduced the violence between two countries for a short time. Therefore, these events have affirmed that sports events can reduce the struggles between countries, get the people together, and decrease the violence; thus, it can alter the status quo world to the peaceful one.

Last but not least, there is a conventional wisdom that sports events escalate the people’s knowledge about the different cultures, countries, and traditions. For instance, when a winner team’s national anthem is being broadcasted, it transfers many cultural concepts to the audiences because it reflects the country’s beliefs. As well as, many tourists coming to the holder sports events country, buying various souvenirs which are derived from the cultural or traditional events of the country. Hence, they act like a cultural messenger to transfer the concepts to other countries and as a result, they get the nations together as much as possible.

To wrap things up, nevertheless believing that the sports events are just for entertainment, many people postulate that they take a center stage in getting the nations together and mitigating the international violence.