Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

In these days, beside teaching students theoretical knowledge, whether they should be provided some soft skills has aroused people's discussion. I contend that these young generations should be improved in both academic and practical knowledge.

There are some reasons why people support for opinion of only teaching student academic subjects. Firstly, since they access to any compulsory subjects at schools or universities, they can gain deeper insight into the areas of specialisation. In fact, learners have opportunity to explore new phenomenon and hidden messeges around them, which they are likely to broaden their horizons in many fields of study. Secondly, by examination results, they are supposed to be eligible for which academics levels they srtand. This means that without an adequate knowledge, students may fail their exams, have to study these subjects again, which they are not able to have better academic performance.

However, I am in favor the idea that practical skills are of great benefit for student to learn. First of all, some practical ones such as cooking, sewing or other skills provide learners fundamental skills, help them to realize their potential and strengths, As an result, they find it so efective and amusing after many hours of studying academic subjects. Moreover, with a few extracurricular activities held by schools, students may have great experiences, apply some theories that they have learnt to the real life. For instance, college students live far from family, life skills such as cooking and self-confidence will be helpful since students will be able to prepare healthy meals and cope with difficulties

In conclusion, notwithstanding all the merits of only teaching students accademic knowledge offer, I believe both theoretical and practical one should be equally important and be taught at school.