Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

There is a widespread belief that these days, in order to pass exam and gain great scores at schools, student ought to acquire more intensive knowledge, instead of learning some social skills such as cooking or dressing. As far as I am concerned, although academic knowledge can bring host of benefits for students, other critical skills also exert positive influences for their further study.

On the one hand, it is true that obtaining good grade at academic subjects is paramount importance for each student, especially before applying for universities. Firstly, nowadays, students tent to compete each order to gain permission into reputable universities, which can help them get more job opportunities. Their requirements of those educational institutions usually include excellent results or academic certificates. Therefore, students have to try their best to broaden their specialised knowledge to gain competitive edge among numerous students. If students pay too much attention to extracurricular activities such as cooking or dressing, they will have inadequate time to concentrate on compulsory subjects.

On the other hand, I also believe that learning how to cook and dress is also advantageous for students. In terms of daily life, nowadays, students are likely to live far away from home to pursue their tertiary study. some of them may find difficulty in making money and they sometimes have to pay off a students loan. Hence, in order to economise, students should avoid expensive restaurants and try to make home-cooked food. cooking is also essential in the time that poisonous food is ubiquitous outside. From the perspectives of promotion prospects, recently, people tent to be judged by their appearance or fashionable clothes. Thus, dressing well is also an importance aspects to attract the headhunters and strike up more relationship with influential people who may help graduates move up to a career ladder.

In conclusion, it seems to me that although academic knowledge is crucial, learning other skills like cooking or dressing also provide more chances for student in their future.