Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught.

To what extent do you agree/disagree?

many people believe that students should study to pass examniation rather than wasting time learning skills like cooking. However, there are both advantages and disadvantages of such trend.

On the one hand, academic knowledge plays a vital role in student’s life. Firstly, it provides sufficient knowlegde for student to practice in the future. For example, in order to qualified to take on higher education, students have to pass serveral exams and acquire a huge amount of academic knowledge. it is hard to imagine how students can handle to pass undergraduate programme without fundamental knowledge from high school or secondary. Furthermore, academic performance is one of the record which the human resources would like to regard in the process of measuring the ablility of certain candidates. some may be disqualified due to that. Therefore, it cannot be denied that academic knowlegde is important for students especially in the tests.

However, pratical skills have an effect to students. Besides from academic records, most of the employer prefer application with specific skills including dressing. No one want to have an employee that is badly dressing to the company as it will affect the company image especially to those working in fashion or media industry. Moreover, attending skill-building classes assist students mainly those who study abroad or live far from home to be more self-indepent. As many people may know, the life of a foreign student does not simple since everything have to be done without others’ aid, from cooking to washing. Thus, there is no such disadvantages to learn these skills beforehand in school.

In conclustion, I deem that academic knowledge and practical skills, either are necessary for students. Hence, if students are taught both, it will benefit the furture in some particular ways.