Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people believe that more and more young people have been using social networking sites as an optimal alternative to conventional socialization. In this essay, I will share my opinion about the cause of this phenomenon and the actions to help them build more communication skills in real life.

The first and foremost reason why many young adults find it irresistible when using and diving into some social networking sites is because these flatforms are incredibly easy to use. Creating an account on some of the most popular platforms, like Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram, does not take more than 1 minute. Users can find, add friends to, converse with, and start a relationship with anyone they want, even strangers. Furthermore, the first reason can cause the second one, which is even more serious, that the number of people socializing on virtual platforms as an optimal way to escape real communication has increased unstoppably. When every step of a relationship can be done on social networking sites, there will be nothing to stop young people from finding and building relationships on them, even if they are fake.

It seems to be hard to find an absolute solution to this phenomenon since it has become a bigger and bigger part of life. Yet we can help young people get back to real communication by holding some practical activities for them, such as camping, outdoor games, and playful activities. Offline meetings could be effective for teenagers because at these events they are able to meet, interact with one another, and learn some social skills in parallel.

In conclusion, socializing online should be considered as a means of communicating, not a thing to boycott. It would be much better for teenagers to learn to balance relationships on virtual platforms and in real life at the same time.