To succeed in a business, one needs to know maths. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this contemporary era, start-up businesses are spreading like wildfires. With regards to this phenomenon, people tend to conceive of successful entrepreneurs as being masters at maths. On the other hand, others contend that maths is not a necessary ability to succeed. This essay will throw some light on both notions and give a personal conclusion.

To commence with, there are some rationales for those who reckon being good at mathematics as an initial quality for businessmen. It is clear that the vast majority of commercial trading is directly linked to the economy. Hence, a business father might need to absorb maths knowledge, in consistent with economic elements. This will help him grasp the market operation, actually calculate and analyse data such as revenue; eventually forecast the trends, and plan a promising strategy to gain competitive advantages. Generally, it is math that fosters a merchant's logical thinking which is a fundamental background of a high achiever in the business sector.

In stark contrast, we should not lose sight of other disciplines' benefits. As long as a businessman involves in a market, he will realise that there are more important competencies than mathematics one. In fact, many case studies have proven that other interpersonal abilities such as communication and leadership skills, networking, bright vision, persistence, and ambition contribute a huge part to a successful business. Even if a manager is not good at math at all, he or she could have a strong network with those who master in this domain and are willing to support or give him or her hand. For instance, many peasants become well-known businessmen in trading and exporting vegetables even though they do not have many maths skills. However, they must be an adept in farming and agriculture and leave mathematical issues to another professional.

By and large, I side with those who advocate that maths does not solely contribute to business success. The organizational manager needs to have a wide range of qualities in order to bring their products or services to dominate in the shared market as well as conquer desperate situations. In my personal perspective, an ideal business is a question of its founder's personality.