Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s world sports has emerged as a highly paid profession. Famous sportsmen and women earn even more than Doctors nowadays. While some people believe that it is justified other’s are of the view that it is unfair to other important professions. In my opinion it is justified. Analyzing the popularity aspect of sports and a short professional career will prove our point.

Firstly, not all the sportspersons get high sums of money for their performances. It is highly variable and depends a lot on luck and physical form at a particular time. For example Boxer Aamir khan, who was unbeatable in the start of his career, but with time popularity has decreased and is not earning as much as he was doing before. He was paid a lot for his popularity and liking initially which has significantly reduced nowadays. Thus short span of times of popularity justifies the high incomes.

Secondly, almost every sportsperson has a very short professional career. For a footballer the maximum professional span is for ten years. Most of them look for alternate jobs and invest in other businesses for money. For instance many cricketers in Pakistan has resided to do cloth business as a source of income. Thus lack of regular income and financial support helps to prove our stance in favor of high pays for sportspersons.

Nevertheless, some people argue that people with high qualification should be pain comparable to sportspersons. Although it seems to be logical but the fact that these professions have a continuous development and a constant financial benefit makes them less important in comparison to sportspersons.

In conclusion, sportspersons have a short career and limited time to perform and earn money in their life. In my opinion it is justified that sportspersons earn a great deal more money than other important professions. In future, the government needs to give these people permanent jobs in order to support themselves.