The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that with broadcasters concentrating too much on coverage of urgent issues in society rather than on positive news will detrimental effects on citizens and the public as a whole. In my perspective, I think that this tendency brings both advantageous and disadvantageous impacts.

On the one hand, if new stories focusing on negative aspects in society appear with a greater frequency, it may be not a good thing for dwellers because that can have adverse influences on people's mental state. For example, information related to terrorism has become a common in the media that some inhabitants may hesitate to travel abroad in fear of suffering from a terrorist attack. Secondly, it can lead individuals to have a misunderstanding about aspects of society. Many tabloids usually exaggerate or make false reports to create sensational contents to attract readers' attention. For instance, spreading rumours about the COVID-19 epidemic on Facebook in VietNam, which has caused a part of the Vietnamese people to panic and doubt about the governments' prevention of the disease.

On the other hand, the focus on deleterious issues instead of positive development also has profitable. Firstly, reputation media can be seen as an effective way to spread with sources of reliable information to everyone everywhere even in remote areas. Secondly, it can help to raise awareness amongst citizens. The more negative stories appear in the media, the higher chance that dwellers will become aware of floating problems and take action towards a solution. For example, environmental pollution reports are one of the main matter and as a result, now humans are gradually realizing that natural protection is vital.

In conclusion, with the reason aforementioned above, I think that broadcasters attempt to publish on adverse problems is beneficial although the harmful sides should also be considered.