There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Nowadays, in the society,there has many advice on the manners to examine student’s academic performance. Some people believe exams are better than continual assessment. By contrast, a proportion of people not agree with it. Are exams way better to estimate students’ study performance than continual assessment? In this essay, I will offer my opinion as well as analzing their pros and cros.

First of all, exams are more fair than continual assessment while they can fully test the knowledge from the textbook. That is because exams have thea same standard. It is clear to show that do students really obtain some knowledge from those study materials, and do they are able to apply in the real life. In contrast, continual assessment is just a stage to stage evaluation, it doesn’t have a full assessment of learning points from the textbook as well as it can be involved some personal feeling by teachers.

On the other hand, exams also bring a huge pressure and the result of exams can be affected by a student’s emotion. The reason why is that exams usually are cost a very high percentage of the course which ‘’force’’ students have to do well in each exam exams in order to acquire a good mark. Meanwhile, as if onin the exam day, student have some bad emotions emotion, it also affect student’s performance. For example, when the exam day, one of my friends is experiencing her period, so that causes her to not can not concentrateconsontrate during the exam, as a result she cannot attain her ideal marks.

To conclude, exams just like assessment, have drawback and advantages. Although exams can fully examine student’s knowledges from the textbook and they are more fair than continual assessment, they also bring tremendous mental pressure and the performance of exams can be affected by student’s current emotions.