These days cultures around the world have become similar when compared to the past.

What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Today people seem to be more similar in the way of life than at any other time in the history of humankind. This essay will argue how globalization and cultural exchanges cause this phenomenon and explain why it can be considered as a negative development in total.

Firstly, globalization has spread a shared sense of universal society. In other words, living in a globalized world, people are encouraged to abide by specific social memes, which may be completely apart from their local customs. For instance, wearing suits, introduced as an accepted uniform for formal situations, has become popular and abolished traditional clothing in many societies eventually. Secondly, cultural exchanges also could play a crucial role in people's integration these days. With advancements in the traveling industry, significant passengers travel around the globe for various aims, such as is studying every year. As a result, they would be exposed to other cultures, result in adopting them as a norm in the long term.

Many believe that cultural similarity provides people with a much more efficient way to communicate with each other, which leads to fewer contradictions stemming from cultural diversity. However, cultural integration could negatively affect the tourism industry in the long term. Sightseers would be less enthusiastic about visiting those regions that no longer have cultural attractions; therefore, tourist attractions are likely to lose a considerable part of their revenue. Moreover, the mentioned development would be at the expense of some local customs partially or even entirely. Since some exotic traditions, being more convenient, enter a country's culture, some substitution would be inevitable. This, in turn, could weak connection to the past generation to some extent.

In conclusion, different nations who are prone to global trends and continuous exchanging traditions have become more alike in the culture. Despite having some minor benefits, this seems to be an unfavorable procedure, affecting regions' tourism industry and customs.