These days many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time.

Explain why you think this change has happened.

What are the effects of this change in attitude?

Nowadays, people discard damaged objects as compared to past, people used to increase the longevity of the damaged things by repairing them. In my opinion, such trend is due to availability of disposable products and affluent nature of people. This attitude has led to increase in pollution.

Enhancement in technology has produced comfort in human life. In the past people used to repair products to increase durability. However, due to availability of disposable products, people are not concerned about repairing them. As an illustration, in rural areas of Pakistan, sweets were served on plates made of dried leaves from palm tree. After damage they were repaired by other dried leaves. But then these traditional plates were replaced by one time use plastic boxes. Furthermore, in advanced countries, people use objects that create ease in their life regardless of their price. To illustrate, in China, crockery is replaced by plastic disposable items, and they discard them after using as they cut out the hassle of washing. HENCE, PEOPLE PREFERS TO EASE THEIR LIFE BY using disposable objects rather than repairing old products.

Throwing damaged things away, rather than repairing, has increased pollution. This is due to lack of reusable products in markets. Nowadays, those items are preferred which can be disposed of. Such items are usually made of plastics. For instance, in the past people used to carry baskets made up of date leaves. But now plastic shopping bags are found everywhere, which has a profound hazardous impact on the environment.

To conclude, these days people throw damaged things away, whereas in the past, people used to keep them for a long time, by repairing them. In my view, this change has happened due to increased usage of disposable objects and nature of rich people. Such attitude has a detrimental impact on the environment by increasing pollution.