These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, men have the tendency to take over the role as househusband, while women are gradually become breadwinners in a family. The reasons for this situation can be several, and I would contend that it is a positive trend.

During the past decades, women tended to stay at home doing house chores and taking care of children. In recent years, due to the advocation of equal right movements, not only did women gain the qualifications to pursue careers, but the stereotype of staying at home is becoming vague. In other words, it has been gradually acceptable that husbands quit from the labor market and support their wives working instead. Another factor for this might be the cost of living are higher compared to the past. Rational couples have to decide to let the one who earns more in a family to take over the roles to work.

From my perspective, I would argue that the changes aforementioned should be seen as progress. Equal opportunity between genders has become the norm in an increasing number of countries. Similarly, men should be free to leave their job and in order to take the responsibility of taking care of children. For instance, gender equality has been promoted intensely. Now, nearly 20% of men in Taiwan choose to stay at home and encourage their wives to pursue their careers. If women do not need to sacrifice their chances to go working, equally, men do not need to put under pressure to go to work.

By way of conclusion, the changing roles between genders indicate the advance in a society, and I believe this trend is desirable.