Today, high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold.To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, there are many products being sold because of their advertisement, while they are not necessary for customers. Some people decide to spend money on product being advertised on TV, billboard, social networks or the hand of celebrities despite having owned another one. I strongly agree with this statement that advertisement can influence customers buying behavior.

Many manufacturers try to increase their sales by hiring famous people or celebrities to present their products. This method would be useful or a waste of money depending on how popular the presenters are, their life style and also what area they involve. For instance, Cristiano Ronaldo could raise the sales of sportswear product as he is one of the greatest sport players, in addition, his picture could induce his followers to spend money on new pair of shoes being worn by him, although they have got plenty of footwear in cabinets.

Alternatively, without employing the well-known people, some organisations expand their income by introducing promotions to the clients. This strategy usually needs less investment than the previous one, whereas it is often effective for the goods which are used in everyday life: food, office appliance, travelling tickets etc. In case of food, many groceries attempt to clear their remaining food in stock by placing a “buy 2 get 1 free” sign on the food which will pass the expiration date in the next few days, as a result, many people often decide to buy two pieces to get the other one for free in spite of having no need to purchase more than one.

In conclusion, advertising is one of the good ways to raise the sales of products. It can be either useful or waste investment depending on the ways it is used. I totally agree with the statement that advertisement have an influence in buying behavior, so customers should thick carefully before purchasing any goods.