Today single-use products become more and more popular. People have to switch to using these products only. Do you agree or disagree?

The question of durability of ordinary items has always been highly debatable in all the societies. Nowadays it is discussed that such trendy disposable goods have to totally displace the multi-use things in everyday life. I completely disagree with this statement and believe that reusable objects are more reasonable for exploitation.

First of all, usage of renowned in the modern society throwaway products is economically unprofitable for the average person. This is because deploying one-time things, it becomes necessary to buy a new one in order to use it again, while reusable items are bought once and customed until it gets useless. Therefore, consumption of multi-use goods is cheaper and reduces personal’s budget expenditures. For example, Starbucks coffeehouse chain reported that people who drink from their reusable cups save 10% of their monthly spending compared to those who prefer disposable ones. In other words, it is much cheaper to buy once and exploit it for a long time than to buy a new one every time.

Second of all, the materials from which the products are made harm the environment. It means that there are approximately no materials in the world that would decompose quickly and harmlessly to nature, and disposable items are produced in larger quantities. Proceeding from this, people buy a thing, use it once, then throw it away, and then buy the same thing again because of this, the amount of used items that will decompose for decades only increase from year to year. For instance, Delivery Club, one of the main players in the food delivery market in Russia, delivers 2 million orders per month, and each order up to a kilogram of plastic, which will decompose for a hundred years, releasing toxic substances into the air, soil and water. Thus, long-term fixtures will reduce the amount of toxic materials produced.

In conclusion, low cost and less hazardous to the environment are important advantages of reusable products over disposable ones.