Topic 23 : nowadays a large amount of advertising aiming at children should be banned because of its negative effects. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, commercial advertisements aiming at children have proliferated in a variety of television channels, websites, magazines, etc. While some people claim that this trend help popularize new good that enhance people’s living standard, I am of the opinion that the banning of these advertisement is necessary due to its adverse impacts on children.

On the one hand, there is a common belief that commercial advertising would introduce new and worthwhile products to the public. People may argue that in the past, a number of useful products gained popularity thanks to advertising such as the success story of an online-study software which is believed to help thousands of financial disadvantaged children achieve invaluable knowledge without paying a large amount of fees. Moreover, these advertisers might offer some learning opportunities for children by sending meaningful contents in their advertisements. For example, healthy food advertised in a right way might encourage children follow a more balance diet.

On the other hand, I would firmly that advertising may lead to drastic consequences that far outweigh their merits. One of the main drawbacks is that young customers often fall victim to some advertising campaigns. This is primarily because conglomerates often exaggerate the usefulness of a few small features in attempt to boost children demand on their products. For instance, the latest robot of a famous company manufactured toys for children showed no differences from its predecessors except for slightly faster processor. However, marketers were skillful enough to persuade their targeted customers who mainly were children that the older robot was obsolete and need to be upgraded to the newest version. The saturated and competitive market force producers forget their mission to bring positive effects but give preference to earn profits.

In conclusion, although there are some benefits advertising might bring to children, I argue that government should not underestimate its disadvantages and take some actions by banning these harmful advertisements.