Tourist 1

Discussed on a regular basis is the topic of tourism, which is a growing phenomenon all across the globe. Despite its major impacts on economic growth, it brings about numerous problems, among which environmental and social challenges stand out. I entirely agree with the fact that tourists should try hard in preserving and maintaining the environment, together with paying descent respect to social norms of a host country.

It is quite clear that countries with dramatic natural sceneries and overwhelming number of cultural sights grab the attention of hordes of tourists. As you will have noticed, these places of interests are considered as great assets for host country’s environment and culture. Therefore, flocking to these must-see places are accompanied by dire consequences, namely, environmental damages. Take, for example, smashing down delicate flowers, scaring away animals from their feeding and nesting sites as well as air and water pollution are among some of the dark sides of tourism industry. To help this cause, tourists should make any efforts to keep these vitally significant places neat and tidy and avoid dropping litter into natural environment.

Apart from environmental concerns, social responsibilities are claimed to be a necessity when it comes to making a trip to a foreign country. Any individual country has its patterns of behavior, religion and rituals. Henceforth, if the tourists want to lead a life like the natives, it is quite advisable to respect to all the norms and values. Otherwise, they may experience social disputes which absolutely spoil their vacation. This issue carries great significance in Muslim countries where people are obliged to series of Islamic rules. With having this in mind, tourists will be able to socialize well with local residents and cope with the cultural differences more easily.

To conclude, tourism is not just the matter of travelling. Tourists do not only have to take some environmental responsibilities, but also social ones. Hopefully this approach will result in a pleasant holiday.