Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Technological advances introduce conveniences to study. It is popular to develop online courses among universities and colleges, bringing a new teaching method to education. In my point of view, the advantages of this tendency outweigh disadvantages.

Firstly, the web-based study improves the efficiency compared with attending class in a formal setting. The flexibility of the internet allows students to acquire knowledge from home, which could save time on transportation. To be more specific, they do not need to get up early and try to avoid rush-hour traffic in the morning. Thus, students could concentrate on the content of modules, a better mark would be achieved with the same time used as before. In this situation, online courses help students study more efficiently.

Secondly, universities may develop rapidly with the aid of distance learning. Since people could study online, it is unnecessary for schools to invest in basic facilities, such as classroom and blackboard. In this situation, the expenditure on scientific researches and introducing outstanding teachers could be increased. As a result, technology enables universities to focus on improving their academic achievements, to attract more students.

However, attending online courses cannot replace traditional teaching method totally nowadays. An obvious drawback is that students lose their chances to practice communication skills if they only learned knowledge at home. Lacking interact with teachers and their counterparts face to face, students, especially children may do not know how to be a good communicator. Thus, their career prospects would be influenced.

In conclusion, the trend of teaching online brings a huge variety of positive possibilities for us. However, there still exists some problems that need to be tackled. In the future, I believe that the disadvantages of technology would be solved by the intelligence of human beings