Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female student in every subject?

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

the same educational opportunities have been suggested for some time now, in an attempt to encourage gender equality in universities. It seems to me that this concept is not, in fact, pragmatic, and I will explain why in this essay.

On the one hand, enrolment of men or women the course should be dependent upon their respective academic performances and overall abilities. For example, if a female student is the best candidate for a certain degree, it is surely wrong to reject her in favor of a male who is considered unqualified. Secondly, the choice of subjects reflects gender-specific characteristics which are directly comparable to the pursuit of academic objectives. Examples can be seen that females are outstanding in some fields related to social subjects, while males are generally regarded as more logical, which enables them to have a better grasp of analytical subjects such as maths or physics.

I accept that this method can dispel traditional prejudice against gender equivalence, particularly in tertiary education. This means that traditional families often feel reluctant to support their daughter who enrolls in subjects one labeled unfit her gender identities such as a mechanic or an engineer. Finally, this trend might encourage people to overcome the hurdles that each gender can only excel at certain subjects and not others. For instance, males students would be likely to follow the literature which they would think that literary appreciation would be out of their depth. Despite this, it seems that the impracticality of the proposal is dominant because it appears the case very frequently that men study social subjects and women select analytical subjects.

To conclude, it might be seen that the aim of this concept is admirable, but it is unworkable and unfair in realistic terms due to the discrepancy of merit and characteristics according to gender.