University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Students going to foreign universities for higher studies has become increasingly popular. Although, studying abroad is too expensive and also results in cultural shock, one of biggest advantage of studying overseas is getting an exposure to global education system and understanding the international market. In my opinion, studying abroad open doors for students for many more opportunities.

To begin with, while studying abroad student’s get to learn well-structured syllabus defined as per international standards. In addition to this, while studying outside of home-country they live independently, away from family, thus get a chance to face challenges and learn to overcome while surviving in international culture. For example, a university student gets a chance to work as an intern in multinational company, which in turn will help him/her in learning the work ethics, norms and culture of global market. Overall, for students that enroll for courses abroad there is for-sure an exponential growth in their career.

On the other hand, there are few disadvantages as well, for some students who are new to the culture of foreign country find it difficult to interact with people in universities. Also, some people go into a cultural shock, due to sudden movement from their comfort zone and usual routine to altogether new culture, climatical changes, etc. For instance, as per research from international student’s association the rate of students dropping out from course in abroad and coming back to home ground is approximately 10%. Thus, it is very much possible that students can suffer from cultural shock and cannot withstand the changes in new country.

In conclusion, we discussed advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad. In my opinion, the plethora of opportunities that students get after getting a degree from abroad universities is far greater than the challenges like financial problem and cultural shock.