Violence in schools has reached an alarming rate.

What are the causes of this problem?

What measures can you suggest to overcome this issue?

There is no denying that children learn by observing and copying, and to mention the downside of it, with very little discrimination. Among the tremendous influences which set the examples they follow are the adults they are in touch with as well as the media they are exposed to. Thus, if children evince violent behavior at school, most probably they are imitating what they have already been exposed to. Ergo, any solution to this problem has to be devised under the auspices of these influences.

Parents who openly argue or quarrel in front of their children and may even resort to verbal or physical violence are the chief culprits in this matter. Of course, not always do children positively copy their parents’ misbehavior, which of course is frequently the case, but they at times reflect the anxiety and chaos in the home in their behavior at school. Bullying, using strong language, fighting and other abnormal manners can be easily traced back to this reason. This is unfortunately fueled by the violence on display in films or video games children watch or play without proper monitoring. Many are the children who have easy access to programs produced for adults representing graphic scenes and aggression and such is the effect they leave on children.

The solution is not far-fetched and the spots to look for it are undoubtedly the family and the media. Should parents receive adequate professional support from psychologist or social workers and should they be trained in parenting and problem-solving skills, they would absolutely be in better control of their behavior and be better role models for their children. A child who is fed with love and affection may impart nothing but love. As with the role of the media, better labeling of programs and stronger measures to limit the access of irrelevant age groups to all films and shows can second the move to providing better environment for them to grow. Regressing to the fact mentioned in the opening paragraph, children are perfect observers and imitators and if well-monitored, they will rarely misbehave.

In conclusion, it can be reiterated that whatsoever goes wrong at school can in no way be separated from what goes on at home; therefore, for children who have an inner predisposition to copy and emulate, imitable role models are essential.