Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that undergraduates should be forced to only take courses that will be

of use in the future such as science-related subjects, while others think that they should

be free to choose whatever they are most interested in. Although science degrees offer

more opportunities to procure a good job, this essay will show that forcing someone to

do what they are not interested in will often result in failure.

On the one hand, students who finish university having studied an area of science are

far more likely to find employment. The simple reason for this is that industries related to

technology are always growing and there is an ever increasing demand for

professionals in this field. For example, Indonesia attracts a lot of foreign companies

because of the competence of their science graduates. Yet, this essay argues that a

person who has found employment easily isn’t guaranteed success in their careers.

On the other hand, when students are forced to study certain subjects, a large number

of them will fail their exams. This is because it is very difficult for a person to dedicate

themselves to learning a topic they dislike because they will have no motivation and find

it more difficult to grasp the concepts. For example, most parents in Vietnam force their

children to study business- related subjects at university, but it has resulted in a failure

rate of nearly one third. Therefore I believe that people will be more likely to succeed if

they follow their interests.

In conclusion, science-based subjects should not be made compulsory at third-level

education because a guarantee of work doesn’t help people to succeed and students

will find them too difficult and fail their exams.