A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values such as honor, kindness, and trust no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the importance of people in these days is assessed based on their social positions as well as tangible possessions; conversely, grace, dignity, and faith are seen as outdated. To a certain extent, this essay agrees that while tangible assets can decide someone’s worth, moral values are still significant. Firstly, this essay will discuss how social media decide people’s worth and secondly, discuss how outdated values still play a pivotal role in the business world.

Internet usage would alter individuals’ understanding of worth. Namely, almost all celebrities use social media by emphasizing the relationship between their luxury mansions or cars and their worth and followers of them may try to mimic their lives to feel valuable by giving more importance to tangible values rather than moral ones. For example, the well-known social media user, Kim Kardashian, see value by many people since she has a myriad of cars and clothes. Despite this, many people do not judge a person's worth according to his or her status and assets, so maybe it is related to people’s attitudes rather than the effects of social media.

In the business sector, many employers give priority to people having humanitarian values such as grace, trust or honor. This is important because team working requires a collaboration and employees should be able to trust each other to profit. For example, a company, Turkish Airlines, select their employees with the help of oral interviews by learning applicants’ thoughts about moral values such as trust.

In conclusion, although social positions and tangible assets can decide the one’s worth, outdated values, such as trust, are still seen as essential in recruitment processes and the latter one should always be taken into consideration while judging a person’s value.