Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest time of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibility.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that the adolescent years are the most cheerful time of most of the people’s lives, while others think that maturity brings more joy, despite greater burden. Although the early years provide an opportunity to collect memories, this essay will show that adulthood enables economic independence, subsequently providing more happiness.

On the one hand, puberty years can be the most cheerful time of someone’s life because it provides an opportunity to collect memories. The simple reason for is that in the early stage of life, many teenagers live with their parents, which means not worrying about electricity bills or household expenditures, and this easiness gives them a chance to share joyful moments with their friends by travelling or going for a vacation. In Turkey, many high school students prefer to hang out with their classmates on weekends by going to the Starbucks to consolidate their friendships, which means collecting memories. Yet, this essay argues that people can feel more joy in the later stage of their lives with the help of economic independence.

On the other hand, having an economic independence means more happiness since the adulthood stage requires working life and a regular income. People can decide their own expenditures without asking for permission from their parents and this may boost their self-confidence, which means feeling more happiness. In many cultures, fathers are seen as a breadwinner, which gives financial support and takes care of other family members, and consequently, this role gives nearly all fathers a sense of joy. This essay, thus, believes that adulthood brings more joy since it enables people the economic independence.

In conclusion, while the adolescent years give a chance to collect joyful memories, the happiness of being economically independent in adult life outweighs the former one.