Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that extracurricular subjects are as significant as mandatory courses, especially at the elementary level. This essay totally agrees with this statement. This essay will first discuss how music or art develop children’s soft skills and secondly, how these subjects reduce pupils’ stress level in the school environment.

Extracurricular subjects are significant to improve social skills at the primary level. Unlike math or geometry, which requires mostly self-study, children should be able to communicate with each other in art and drama lessons, which demand feedback and advice, to fulfil their tasks, and consequently, they would learn how to communicate with other class members. According to The Times Magazine, for example, nearly half of human resources managers of big companies in the US, owe their successful communication skills to their drama and music lessons in their primary years.

Taking music or art lessons can easily reduce children’s level of stress. Since formal examinations and continuous assessment lead to stress among pupils, they may need to take a break, and painting or theatre classes help to activate different brain regions, meaning that pupils may involuntarily distract their minds. For example, according to a recent study conducted at Leiden University in 2016, almost 85% of university students, who regularly took painting lessons at their primary years, in the experimental group coped more easily with instant difficulties than the control group, who did not take any art lessons.

In conclusion, extracurricular courses, which develop pupils’ social skills and reduce their stress level, have an importance in common with other school subjects, such as math.