As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilites. Do you agree or disagree?

People have distinctive views about what kinds of obligation a company should have. While I accept that the top priority of companies is to generate profits, I agree that they should also be responsible for society.

On the one hand, businesses already contribute to society by only focusing on making money. First, by earning huge profits, companies could be able to expand their businesses, which creates more job opportunities for citizens. As a result, the unemployment rate would be reduced. For example, the mobile phone giant Samsung, which has experienced a significant increase in profits over years, has created thousands of jobs for local people since it started investing in Vietnam in 1996. Additionally, companies usually pay more tax when earning higher profits. This money could be used to invest in a variety of vital sectors such as education and health care, which will benefits society as a whole.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why companies also need to have social responsibilities. The first one is that since a growing number of factories in these days has had an adverse impact on the natural environment, businesses are required to take immediate actions to prevent nature from serious damages. For instance, factories could spend money on installing waste treatment systems instead of discharging chemical wastes into rivers. Additionally, Companies should consider donating their money to charity or carrying out social activities by themselves. As an illustration, Vinamilk has provided annual scholarships for students being from impoverished families. This not only helps unfortunate people but enhances images of the company.

In conclusion, while making profits is a fundamental vision of businesses, they should profoundly reflect on their social responsibilities.