When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly argued by some that salary plays an integral part when selecting a career. Whereas there are persuasive arguments to the contrary, it is my personal belief that other factors are equally important. The justifications for this are as follows.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why salary is considered by many as the most essential factor. To embark on, during this contemporary world, cost of living has increased, meaning that many people have to apply for a job in which they earn a competitive salary to meet their basic needs. For instance, we all need money to pay for housing, electricity bills, healthcare, education, food, etc. If workers opt for a job based on enjoyment or non-financial factors, they will find it difficult to support themselves. A salient example is that many musicians and artists are known for choosing a career path they love, but that does not always provide them with enough money to lead a fulfilling life and raise their family.

On the other hand, I believe that other considerations are just as important. Firstly, working environment seems to be highlighted in the requirement of many job seekers. For example, having a sympathetic manager or supportive work colleagues would definitely make a significant contribution to employees’ level of happiness, which results in better labor productivity. On top of that, for those who adore freedom and outdoor activities, they cannot stand repeating the same boring routine of a desk job such as that in a bank even though that vacancy is offered an extremely high pay package in the job market. Secondly, job satisfaction is also a matter that many people are concerned about. In other words, instead of working for a repetitive company in the city, some opt to move to rural areas and conduct charity activities to assist the locals. Despite earning a relatively small amount of money, they are still satisfied with their contributions to the society.

By way of conclusion, while money does affect people’s choice of profession, this is by no means a critical consideration for everyone in making a career decision.