Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, and the protection is a waste of

resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I disagree with the notion that wild animals are redundant in the current century and therefore we need not waste our precious resources in protecting them. I believe that

the conservation of these species should be our top priority as they are our most precious resources. In the following paragraphs I shall put forth my arguments to support my views.

The most important reason for saving wild animals is that they are part of our

ecosystem. Every species of wildlife plays a role to maintain the balance of life on Earth. Thus, the loss of any species can affect us directly or indirectly. Let us consider species to be like a brick in the foundation of a building. We can probably lose one or two or a dozen bricks and still have a standing house. But by the time we

have lost 20 per cent of species, we are going to destabilize the entire structure.

That's the way ecosystems work.

Secondly, wild animals provide many valuable substances such as medicine and fur. The horn of the rhinoceros has medicinal value and the fur of the mink is very valuable. The recreational viewing of animals at zoos is also a source of revenue.

Thus, the financial value of wild species is important to the economies of many

nations.

Finally, wild animals have aesthetic appeal. They are beautiful creatures of nature

and are a part of our bio-diversity. Their beautiful and mysterious life has enchanted

mankind since the dawn of evolution. Scientists have been awed by observing their

behavior. Such study has helped scientists understand how the human body

functions and why people behave as they do. Scientists have also gained medical

knowledge by studying the effect of many drugs on these animals.

In conclusion, the protection of wild animals in the 21st century is by no means a

waste of resources. In fact it should be the most important global priority today. I pen down by a quotation―Scientists know we must protect species because they are working parts of our life-support system.