Write about the following topic:

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The significance of computers in human history has been a controversial topic. While some say that these devices are the most groundbreaking invention in the last few centuries, I believe that the creation of the Internet is equally important.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that advent of computers has radically transformed different aspects of human society. To begin with, these machines have revolutionized our workplace, allowing information to be stored and shared in noticeably more secured ways. For instance, computer users can save and protect their files with passwords on their devices instead of having to preserve physical documents, which are more susceptible to external factors such as weather conditions. In addition, the existence of computers has also provided the initial ground for other boundary-busting initiatives to take form. Prominent among these include automation and the Internet. They would have all been impossible had it not been for the idea of putting strings of code together for machines to perform our tasks, which originates in the creation of computers.

On the other hand, I reckon that the Internet deserves just as much recognition as computers. The first reason is that the Internet has helped to bridge connections across vast distances. This is reflected in the number of people using social networking sites like Facebook or Twitter to stay connected with their family and loved ones. More importantly, the Internet continuously provides new digital space where information could be stored and most importantly, shared. While computers played a key role in the birth of the Internet as mentioned above, the latter has exerted much more impact on our lives, due to the power of connection it provides.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge the importance of computers, I believe that the Internet is just as crucial in our world. In the future, it is predicted that the Internet will eventually surpass computers, which could be replaced by smart devices such as smartphones and tablets.