Write about the following topic:

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The significance of computers in human history has been a controversial topic. While some say that these devices are the most groundbreaking invention in the last few centuries, I believe that the creation of the Internet is equally important.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that advent of computers has radically transformed different aspects of human society. To begin with, these machines have revolutionized our workplace, allowing information to be stored and shared in more secured ways. For instance, computer users can save and protect their files with passwords on their devices instead of having to preserve fragile physical documents. In addition, the advent of computers laid down the platform for other boundary-busting developments to take form. These include automation and the Internet, which are now integral elements in production lines and communication, respectively.

On the other hand, the Internet deserves just as much recognition as computers for several reasons. Forefront among these is the radical transformation done to communication by the Internet. This is best reflected in the growing popularity of social networking sites like Facebook or Twitter, thanks to which millions of people can stay connected with their loved ones over vast distances. Also, the Internet provides online spaces where information could be stored and shared. This feature gives the Internet more weight than computers, which are restricted to offline information storage.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge the importance of computers, I believe that the Internet is just as crucial in our world. In the future, it is predicted that the Internet will eventually surpass computers, which could be replaced by smart devices such as smartphones and tablets.