You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

You should write at least 250 words.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Proofreaders are commonly stressful to determine the topic which will be televised and published on the press. The shocking news such as celebrity scandals, precautions of natural disasters or acts of terrorism are regularly favored.

A research over 1100 people from 17 different countries revealed that humans tend to be attracted to bad news over good news. This is explained as a survival instinct when readers and spectators unintentionally pay more attention to an earthquake, a storm or a flood. Imagine that ignoring the negative news like the oncoming hurricane is very more dangerous than ignoring the positive news like a dog recusing a boy trapped on a tree. In addition, curiosity is a human nature, hence we are likely to care about other people’s secrets, especially the famous people. As proof, rumors and spoilers of a singer which easily stimulate reader’s interest is frequently printed on the cover. Nonetheless, the research also affirmed that up to two-out-of-five candidates, approximately a half, do not lean toward either side of news. It means not that all people constantly desire to read or watch unpleasant events, therefore the pleasant ones should be concerned by the journalists to present more to readers and viewers. The nice stories will help people to be less pessimistic and realize that life does not only contain the crimes, the calamities and the terrors. There are still the bright things surrounded us, such as achievements that environmentalists are trying to keep the greening of our planet or dedications that the singer who is being criticized contributed to the world, etc …

In conclusion, the true that people appeal to the distressing information is totally the instinct of human beings. In spite of that, to reduce the burden of life, the media people should report increasingly the significant messages in order to make people love each other more and enjoy our life more.