You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

You should write at least 250 words.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Being an editors are sometimes stressful due to decision of publishing a news. Bad and good news have their own advantages and disadvantages. Therefore, the job of editors is to carefully select which one is suitable for appearing in the news.

There are two conditions to make up an informative news. First is the character of the information. Usually, humans tend to be attracted to bad news over good ones. Hence, shocking news are regularly more favored than the good ones. For example, readers will unintentionally pay more attention to an earthquake, a storm or a flood in order to survive. Second is reader's curiosity. It is a human personality, so people are likely to care about other people’s secrets, especially the celerity. Consequently, rumors and spoilers of a singer which easily stimulate reader’s interest is frequently printed on the cover.

There is a debate whether they should present more negative news or positive bulletins should be dominant. Even though bad news is appealed more views, it is not always the center of the Earth. It does create some worry and gloomy sensation but it is still a must-have information to build people's caution about life. Instead of writing all those mentioned above, happy ending ones should be concerned to broadcast more by the journalists to balance the information for viewers. The nice stories will help people optimistic and realize that life does not only contain the crimes, the calamities and the terrors but also many amazing things people willing to do for each others.

In conclusion, the media team should weigh the pros and cons before reporting the bulletins. Equalizing those bad and good news a make people love each other and enjoy their life more without forgetting being warned by the negative news.