You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

You should write at least 250 words.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

editor’s choice. Even in the word “news” has this feature – new. The earth always moves, so does the life. Citizens always have demand to acquire the latest events which are happening around them.

There is a debate whether these social communicated channel should be provided more bad or good bulletins. Actually, these are two sides of social life. So they should equalize these two aspects. Let’s imagine that all the news are awful, for instances crime, rape, thief, impoverishment… People will get zero point for hope, no faith between people and maybe no co-operation would occur. Vice versa, if the bulletins are all about how amazing people is, how fantastic that doctors can save thousand of lives and cure every diseases and how beautiful many nations treat each others, people will never see and be warned about robberies, rape, medical failures, wars, natural resources dearth…

To sum up, being an information-connection team, which has a huge impact to the population, editors should selectively choose the best news to broadcast and weigh the pros and cons in every single word appeared in screen or paper.